This last Tuesday, I presented a 20 minute long exposition on Reflecmedia at the Seattle Final Cut Pro User Group Meeting. (@SEAFCPUG on Twitter) Guy Cochran was nice enough to send me some pictures he took after my presentation, when I went back to run the switcher for the rest of the meeting’s live stream. Here’s a couple of those pictures:

This is me running our ATEM 1 M/E with the BMD Control Panel, and monitoring our live stream on an iPad Mini

This is me running our ATEM 1 M/E with the BMD Control Panel, and monitoring our live stream on an iPad Mini

Watching Bernard present keying techniques in Final Cut Pro X while I switch for the live stream.

Watching Bernard present keying techniques in Final Cut Pro X while I switch for the live stream.

A member, Gordon, shoots as A camera with his HPX-500

A member, Gordon, shoots as A camera with his HPX-500

These are just a couple quick iPhone shots, but I wanted to quickly discuss the gear: The first two pictures show the rig and our monitor devices: we were streaming live via a Teradek Link with 3 4G data cards. In this rig, we used a Blackmagic Design ATEM 1 M/E with BMD Smartview HD for the multi-view. In the rack were two Sennheiser Wireless EW100 G3A kits, and a Rolls 6 channel mixer. The cameras we used were an HPX-500, and just a little Sony SR-11 for B-Cam shots. We used the Edirol VC300HD as a converter so we could use the presentation computer as both a source for our live stream and as one for the projector that the group in the building views.

Lastly, I recorded my green-screen footage direct to an Atomos Samurai from a Panasonic AG-AF100, and we recorded the entire broadcast in an AJA Ki Pro for archiving.

All in all, it went beautifully. Unfortunately the archived live footage (through the live streaming service) doesn’t look nearly as good after it’s been cycled and compressed again, but the Ki Pro footage should look great. If you’d like to know how any of the gear works, or how it goes in practice, just drop me a line!

 

 

